Cookie Monster

I had a cupcake injected with cookie dough about a year ago at Molly’s Cupcakes in Chicago and it was possibly the best thing I have ever eaten in my life! So I had to attempt to recreate them. I must say, mine weren’t too bad (but they were no Molly’s Cupcakes! Next time you’re in Chicago you should go! You can thank me later!). So in my attempt to recreate these I made a basic vanilla cupcake and then cored out the middle with an apple corer. I filled the middle with a safe-to-eat (i.e. no eggs) cookie dough recipe:

Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt (a few people have found this to be too much; if you want, just add a pinch and increase to taste. I add the full 1/2 teaspoon and enjoy it!)
1 tablespoon vanilla extract (again, you might want to add this a teaspoon at a time to taste. I add the full tablespoon and enjoy it!)
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
water

Directions:
In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Stir in the flour, salt, vanilla and chocolate chips. Add water one tablespoon at a time (stirring between each) until the dough reaches cookie dough consistency.

I topped them with a sweet vanilla icing (this is one of my favorites if you didn’t notice the trend) and topped with a soft, homemade chocolate chip cookie. YUM!

Comment Me :-)

