Half Way and so much more…

Wow….it has been a busy week! But I promise, while I’ve fallen horribly behind on my blogging, I haven’t missed a workout. The half way point came and went, and it’s all downhill from here. So let me catch you up. This past weekend I went to Carbondale with my family. My sister goes to school down there so we were taking her back from Christmas break. I was lucky to have had a three day weekend so I stayed down there through Monday. We worked out at the SIUC Rec center on Monday and Tuesday. It was really nice! It’s pretty big with a large variety of equipment. I’m not much of a swimmer; but if you are, their pool is something to drool over. It’s a beautiful Olympic size pool with multiple high dives and extremely clean water (and not the horribly chlorinated kind of clean). But again,  I’m no good at swimming for anything other than leisure. So Sunday, my sister wanted to learn how to use all the different weight machines. We went through each one in the weight room, getting a decent leg and arm workout; but it was mostly instructional so we weren’t going all out. It was a good toning workout though. After that we went for some cardio and I had fun playing trainer on the treadmills. 🙂 We did a mile ranging from 3.5-7 mph and 0-5 incline. After that we ended the late night workout with an ab set that included: plank, side plank, weighted sit-ups, bicycles, leg lifts, obliques, and a couple others. It was a fun workout and it was nice to have a workout buddy! Of course, after all that and being a night workout, I managed to forget my burpees….BIG MISTAKE. I thought forgetting day 6 was bad…forgetting day 15 and having to do 31 the next day was no fun ((but at least I know I can make it to day 30))!

Monday I was blessed with another day with my workout buddy. I really wanted to do the rock climbing wall they had, but of course it was closed at the time we were there. So, she decided she wanted to focus on arms. We started in a free weight room and did 25 kettlebell swings, 15 bicep curls, 15 military press, 15 tricep kickbacks, 15 deltoids, a plank exercise (from a previous sheet I posted on day 2) and then back down….plank, deltoids, triceps, shoulders, biceps, and kettlebell swings. After that we were going to do some cardio, but the cardio room was pretty full so we went into a quick ab circuit. We did leg lifts, plank, obliques, weighted sit-ups, and bicycles once through for 45 seconds each and then a second time through for 30 seconds each. By the time we finished that, there was more space in the cardio room so we did a 1000M race on the row machines. That was a lot of fun. I wish we had row machines here in town. I beat her, but not by much; and in all fairness, she didn’t quite get the screen that stated how far ahead/behind you were, so had she realized that she was behind not ahead it would have been a really tight race. We had about 5 more minutes before our time was up  so we did 5 minutes on the stationary bikes—2.5 minutes only using arms and 2.5 minutes of legs. Overall it was a really good workout. And again it was great to have a partner to workout with! And don’t worry, I somehow knocked out my 31 burpees. (UGH!)

Tuesday was back to the grind. I started class that night as well so I had to squeeze my workout in early. It was a quick cardio workout. I did a mile on the track—5 laps jogging and 5 laps sprinting the long sides/walking the short sides. That method of sprinting/walking/sprinting/walking and so on was one of the recommended workouts to help with stamina for the Fight for Air Climb…of course I imagine you’re supposed to do more than just 5 laps for it to do much good. After the quick run, I did another ab circuit and got my 17 burpees out of the way for the day. It was a quick workout, but a good start to my day!

Wednesday I had a split shift at work so I  got my workout in between shifts. I did a quick 2/3 mile warm-up on the treadmill between 5-7 mph. I then ran up and down 10 flights of stairs…trying to get in those stairs and cardio to make Feb 18th easier! So after that I did 5 more laps of sprinting the long sides/walking the short, followed by an ab circuit. After my abs were burning pretty good I did 20 squats, 20 lunges and 3 more laps of sprinting/walking. Hit the showers and headed back to work! Had to do my burpees later that night after class.

Day 19…oh boy was this a day. I wasn’t able to get my workout in until about 11pm, so admittedly it was a verrrrrry quick one. I did 7 moves, 20x each. 10 burpees, 10 squats, 10 leg lifts (abs), 30 second plank, 10 side crunches (left), 10 side crunches (right), 20 pushups, 10 side crunches (right), 10 side crunches (left), 30 second plank, 10 leg lifts (abs), 10 squats, 10 burpees. How do you like that, I even did an extra burpee! 🙂

And finally….day 20. I did a very quick warm up walking on the treadmill (3.5-4mph & 5-15 incline). After the warm up I went up to the track which was completely empty (LOVE THAT!). I did 6 laps sprinting the long, walking the short, sprinting the long, walking the short, running down 2 flights of stairs, back up 2 flights of stairs and then sprinting the long again and so on and so on. It was a good cardio workout but I should have made myself go longer! After that I finished up with 50 kettlebell swings, 25 wall balls, and 20 burpees. Only 10 days to go!!

Whew! And this brings me to today…..first I will be taking a nap and then I will get my workout in….thinking about kickboxing, but might also save that for tomorrow when I have more time. We will see. Hope everyone has a great day and I promise I won’t get a week behind again!!

Comment Me :-)

